And So It Begins

Standard

TCRI was on FB and I saw that GFNY posted a contest.  They asked for tips on riding in the rain.  I had ridden a Century in the rain and boy did I learn some lessons.  So I organized my thoughts and even included a link to a video.  The winner would be selected by the greatest number of likes.  Then I went to my cycling club FB Group (BTCNJ) and asked them to go to the GFNY post and to look for my comment and click “like”.  My fellow members were clicking “like” on the post I had just written on our group page, others members “liked” the GFNY contest post and just a handful actually made it all the way to my comment the GFNY contest post and clicked “like”.  So I decided that a tutorial video was in order to clear up any confusion.  I posted that video on the BTCNJ group page and the GFNY organizers saw that video and a few days later they approached me and asked if I would be interested in video blogging my preparation.  I thought about it for two days and then I said yes.  Having the opportunity to share my experience and journey as I get ready for the GFNY was something I couldn’t pass up. Plus I figured that it would force me to stay on track with my training.  Since I was putting it out there.

The GFNY folks offered to pay for my GFNY event registration (super cool of them BTW) but I turned that down.  I wanted to be objective and I didn’t feel right about it. I did however say that I wouldn’t mind getting GFNY kit and I received the winter jacket this last weekend.  I’ll do a product review on the jacket soon, it snowed this past weekend so I couldn’t head out to ride.

I’ve submitted 6 episodes to date and have 2 published.  I’ll use this blog to share all my content and a few extra things.  So that is how my video blogging for GFNY began.

GRAN FONDO NEW YORK – “I will be ready…”

Leave a comment